Denis Byrne Memorial Lecture

Sandra Bellekom

Ear Science Institute Australia
2020 Denis Byrne Memorial Lecturer

Sandra Bellekom is the Chief Executive Officer and Executive Board Member of Ear Science Institute Australia, an independent, not-for-profit medical research institute dedicated to improving the lives of those with hearing and balance disorders through prevention, education, clinical services and research. She leads a team of 100 including surgeons, audiologists, scientists, researchers and corporate officers, and is a Founding Member of the Hearing Health Sector Alliance.

Her career spans more than two decades of audiological positions throughout Australia, as well as managerial and business development appointments within Australia, and the United States.

She is an Adjunct Senior Research Fellow at the Ear Sciences Centre in the School of Medicine at UWA, a Professional Board Member of Lions Hearing Foundation, and was recently named the Director of the WHO Collaborating Centre for Ear and Hearing Care and one of The Australian Financial Review 100 Women of Influence for 2019 – Global.

About the Denis Byrne Memorial Lecture

In March of 2000, scientists and audiologists in Australia and worldwide mourned the passing of Dr Denis Byrne. Denis was one of the founders of the Audiological Society of Australia (now Audiology Australia), and he was a giant in the field of audiology. Denis was first and foremost a scientist, making original contributions to hearing research and to clinical practice. His pioneering work in developing the NAL hearing aid prescription improved the lives of thousands of hearing aid users, and NAL prescription continues to be an industry standard both in Australia and internationally. Denis was a friend, a colleague, a scientist, an innovator, and a mentor who encouraged and supported many of us in our chosen career. Most of all, he was an inspiration to us all. Denis was also a teacher, who believed in sharing knowledge freely, and who worked tirelessly as the first Editor of the Australia and New Zealand Journal of Audiology to create a world-class scientific journal showcasing Australian hearing research.

In seeking to commemorate Denis, Audiology Australia established the ‘Denis Byrne Memorial Lecture’ as a lasting tribute to a truly great Australian scientist and clinician. The lecture is delivered by an eminent Australian researcher or clinician at each Audiology Australia National Conference. The names of the lecturers are inscribed on the memorial plaque, which proudly hangs in the Audiology Australia National office as a perpetual reminder of Denis’s role in establishing Australia in the global collegium in audiology and hearing research. Although Denis was never one for self-aggrandizement or formality, we believe that he would have approved of honouring Australian audiology and audiologists in his name.

Denis Byrne Memorial Lecturers

2000 Laurie Upfold
2002 Field Rickards
2004 Jenni Rosen
2006 Robert Cowan
2008 Harvey Dillon
2010 Louise Hickson
2012 Rob Patuzzi
2014 Christopher Lind
2016 Alison King
2018 Richard Dowell